Interim committee on judicial selection appointed

crim_gavelTexas Speaker of the House Joe Straus recently appointed six House members to a Joint Interim Committee on Judicial Selection. Under HB 2772 by J. Rodriguez, enacted in 2013 by the 83rd Legislature, the committee is charged with studying and reviewing the ways appellate court, district court, and statutory and probate court judges are selected in Texas.

On April 25, Rep. Tryon Lewis was appointed to serve as the joint committee’s co-chair with Sen. Robert Duncan. Also appointed were Reps. Nicole Collier, Abel Herrero, Geanie Morrison, Justin Rodriguez, and Kenneth Sheets. House members will serve with Sens. Kelly Hancock, Joan Huffman, Carlos Uresti, Royce West, and John Whitmire, in addition to Sen. Duncan. HB 2772 required that the committee be composed of three Republicans and three Democrats from the Senate and three Republicans and three Democrats from the House.

For more on this issue, see previous post: House committee discusses judicial selection and term length.

by Tom Howe

This entry was posted in Judiciary and Jurisprudence and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.